FROM fourth spot, the Pirates have snatched the treasure. Peninsula Old Boys are back on top of the MPCA after winning the 2012-13 Provincial premiership.

 A 64-run win over Sorrento in the grand final at Alexandra Park on Saturday capped a fairytale finish to the season, after sneaking in the Grand Final by 1 run.

A magnificent last wicket stand by TJ and Weeman, saw the pirates post a modest but respectable total of 197 and then dismissed Sorrento for 133.

POB captain-coach Glen Prendergast praised the fighting qualities of his close-knit side.
"It's special because we scrapped and scrapped," he said. "That's what we are about . . . the fighting Pirate spirit." Prendergast said his side grabbed its opportunities.
"We've just snuck up like sleeping giants and taken the cup from their (Sorrento's) hands," he said.

"It's like a Pirate stealing from a ship. We got the treasure."

Resuming on Saturday at 4-38 chasing 197, Sorrento's hopes hinged on former state star Nick Jewell, who was 15 not out.

A big crowd turned up to see if Jewell could produce a memorable innings. But, after adding only five runs, he was bowled by Zac Fillipone while attempting a cover drive. It was a key moment.

At 9-110, Sorrento coach Nick Davern and David Smith refused to surrender and put on 23 before Davern was caught behind by Wade Pelzer off the bowling of John Forrest.

Sorrento was all out in the 79th over. In all, 54 overs were played on Saturday.

Peninsula Old Boys' bowling attack was outstanding. Fillipone made a name for himself, capturing 4-27 off 21 overs, Adam Jones took 2-51, Dylan O'Malley 1-16, Forrest 1-20 and Eivion Bowen 1-10.

It was Peninsula Old Boys' second Provincial flag – two years after winning the 2010-11 title.

Prendergast said this was a golden era for his club.

"We've got a group of blokes who just play for each other week in, week out," he said.

Peninsula Old Boys' flag men: Dylan O'Malley, Brandon Lawler, Eivion Bowen, Glen Prendergast (captain), Wade Pelzer, John Forrest, Andrew Parsons, Trevor Johnston, Zac Fillipone, Adam Jones, Adam Gailitis. 12th man Neil Franks.